When you visit your Activity feed on the web or in the mobile app, you’ll see messages related to your Applets. Here's a rundown to help you understand what you’re seeing, and why.
To troubleshoot your Applet further, there are some useful tips in this article as well.
Applet ran: Your Applet ran as expected! If you expand this item, you’ll see more details about what exactly IFTTT was up to on your behalf. Note: If your Applet has multiple actions, you’ll see this item even if only one of those actions successfully ran.
Applet updated: You successfully changed the configuration on one of your Applets, such as the hashtag to track for a Twitter Applet or the day of the week for an Email Digest Applet.
Applet created: You made an Applet via ifttt.com/create or the mobile app. Note: this only shows up when you build your own Applet, not when you turn on an Applet built by someone else or an IFTTT partner.
Applet turned on: When you turn on an Applet, we’ll put this confirmation in your activity feed.
Applet turned off: If you turned off one of your Applets, you’ll see this item. If you see it but don’t recall turning off the Applet, expand the item to get a link to some troubleshooting tips.
Applet skipped: This means your trigger ran, but the actions were skipped. It’s not necessarily bad news — if your Applet has filter code, it may skip because the conditionals the code outlined weren’t met. E.g. This Applet will show up in your feed as “Applet skipped” when the trigger fires on breaking news but the code determines that the news isn’t related to the Bay Area.
Applets could also skip if:
- We tried to run the action five times and weren’t able to make it happen
- The time between the trigger and the action attempt goes too long (a time out) — this only happens with Applets that use the Button, Note, or Camera widget services
- The action service is paused — this also only happens with Applets that use the Button, Note, or Camera widget services (you can see which services are paused by visiting status.ifttt.com)
Applet failed: This can happen for a few reasons. Let’s break it down:
- If you’re using a service for your action that has usage limits, the Applet will fail if you’ve hit those limits (e.g. the SMS service has a limit of 100 messages a month in North America)
- If one of the services involved is paused — visit status.ifttt.com to check out which services are currently paused and subscribe for updates
- Our call to the trigger or action service took too long or failed, usually indicating some (temporary!) API issues on that app or device’s end
- An unexpected error could sometimes pop up (we can’t prevent 100% of these, but know that we see them and do our best to investigate them)
Applet published: Makers can publish Applets for others to use. When you do, you’ll see this item in your feed.
Service connected: This item confirms that you’ve linked a new app or device to your IFTTT account.
Service disconnected: When you disconnect from a service, we’ll put this confirmation in your activity feed.
Service edited: Sometimes you may want to link a different service account, or update a password and reconnect. In that case, you’ll see this item letting you know those updates went through.
Service is offline: Uh oh! This usually means one of your apps or devices is no longer properly linked with IFTTT. Expand this item and we’ll help you reconnect via the service’s settings page, so you can get up and running again. If you don’t reconnect, we may give you a reminder item a few days later — eventually, if you don’t reconnect, we’ll have to disable the service and your Applets, so we’ll try and give you enough time to fix it before we do that.
Service is online: If we’ve seen your service was recently offline but has made a triumphant return to online status, we’ll give you the good news in your activity feed via this item.
Usage limit exceeded: Some of the apps and devices we work with have limits to how much they can handle via IFTTT. We try and make these as transparent as possible, and let you know when you’re approaching a limit and when you’ve hit it. When you hit it and we can’t run an Applet, you’ll see this item in your feed.